Frequently Asked Questions

Any Arabic-language investigation that has been published or aired between Oct.1, 2020, and Sep. 30, 2021.

ARIJ Annual Awards are an opportunity for some of the best investigations from the MENA region to be rewarded and put on display in front of the field’s leading members. In a field as complicated as investigative journalism, ARIJ’s annual awards program is a gesture of appreciation, encouragement and training tool, modelling thorough and ethical work.


The jury, which consists of a Jury Head and four members coming from some of the best media organisations in the Arab world.

Best Arab Investigation – Gold Award
Best Arab Investigation – Silver Award
Best Arab Investigation – Bronze Award

No. All entries must be submitted in Arabic.

Yes. You may only submit one application for one investigation.

The awards competition is free to enter.

Submit your entry by Sep. 30, 2021.

Entries will be judged based on:

originality and relevance
clarity of hypothesis
research and sourcing
risk calculation
structure and storytelling
data presentation and visual treatment
law and ethics
use of language
accuracy, balance, clarity
personal and professional initiative taken

The awards competition is open to all Arab investigative journalists; whether based in the Arab World or living abroad.